Date: 14 March 2024, 5.00 PM – 6.00 PM

Venue: MCC Scruton (Budapest, Tas vezér utca 3-7., 1113)

The event is open to the press and all, but pre-registration is required.

Description: The 2024 U.S. presidential election will be the 60th presidential election in US history, held on 5 November. Incumbent President Joe Biden, a Democrat, is running for re-election, while his predecessor Donald Trump, a Republican, is also in the race. As the presidential election process is a complex and lengthy procedure that unfolds over nearly two years, understanding the ins and outs of the process is challenging. Our next distinguished guest, Dr. Patrick Deneen who is a Professor of the Department of Political Science at the University of Notre Dame will introduce the developments and possible outcomes of the election process.

Language: English



  • 5.00 – 5.45 PM Moderated Discussion

· Patrick Deneen, Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Notre Dame

· Moderator: Rajmund Kiss, Head, Center for Diplomatic Studies, MCC

  • 5.45 – 6.00 PM Q&A 


Patrick J. Deneen holds a B.A. in English literature and a Ph.D. in Political Science from Rutgers University. From 1995-1997 he was Speechwriter and Special Advisor to the Director of the United States InformationAgency. From 1997-2005 he was Assistant Professor of Government at Princeton University. From 2005-2012 he was Tsakopoulos-Kounalakis Associate Professor of Government at Georgetown University, before joining the faculty of Notre Dame in Fall 2012. He is the author and editor of several books and numerous articles and reviews and has delivered invited lectures around the world.Deneen was awarded the A.P.S.A.'s Leo Strauss Award for Best Dissertation in Political Theory in 1995, and an honorable mention for the A.P.S.A.'s Best First Book Award in 2000. He has been awarded research fellowships from Princeton University, the Earhart Foundation, and the Institute for Advanced Study at the University of Virginia. His teaching and writing interests focus on the history of political thought, American political thought, liberalism, conservatism, and constitutionalism.